May 2006  


  Home Membership Our History Club Activities Favorites Awards Members photos Members at their rigs Members' DXpeditions Members' Awards Metro DX Challenge Members Contesting Club Contest Results W9TY Awards Meeting Minutes In Memoriam By-Laws


The regular May meeting was scheduled for May 19th was postponed and is being held tonight, Friday May 26, 2006.

The meeting was called to order at 7:45 PM by President Bob Adamitis, K9MDO. The minutes of the last meeting and Treasurer’s report were read by Secty/Treas. Jack Nienhaus, W9NJB. Minutes and report approved by the membership.

V.P. John Holmes, W9ILY, reported that member Russ Hibma, K9DXR, won first place as the SSB Rookie All Band 9th Area CQWW WPX SSB 2004 Contest. In addition W9ILY won a first place in the California QSO Party. Contest this weekend will be the CQWW WPX Contest CW. On June 3/4 the Seanet Contest, RSGB National Field Day and the QRP TAC Sprint Contest.

W9ILY and N9LAH worked the Indiana QSO party from a location in Indiana. They made 252 QSOs with a total of 39,072 points in the contest.

K9MDO mentioned that he and W9NJB attended a meeting of the St. Augustine, FL Radio Club on May 9th when Metro member William N2WB put on a program about the Peter I Dxpedition. W9ILY showed the unique QSL card he received for working Peter I. KM9M, Zig, made a motion that the club purchase a Peter I DVD. Motion seconded by K9CJ, Bob Jacobson. W9ILY will make the purchase.

K9CJ then turned the discussion to the coming Field Day operation. A chart of what equipment is needed and the person responsible for bringing it was distributed. The rest of the meeting was a general discussion of this year’s Field Day and rules.

K9AJ, Mike McGirr, will present a program at the June 16th meeting that is sure to be interesting and entertaining. Be sure to come and bring a friend.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:00 PM and a DVD was shown on N9LAH’s laptop computer screen on the March 2005, KH6SI, Swains Island operation. Two Metro members took part, W9IXX, Phil Florig and N9TK, Jim Mornar.

The following members attended tonight’s meeting:


Respectfully submitted by – Jack Nienhaus, W9NJB, Secty/Treas.